National and international cooperation

National and international cooperation

Professors, lecturers and employees of the Faculty of Political Science and International Studies of the University of Warsaw are a unique team of theoreticians and practitioners actively participating in public life. The Faculty consists of 15 colleges, in which the staff conduct research within a broad range of interests and cooperate with various institutions both on national and international level.

National cooperation

National institutions we cooperate with:

  • Central Examination Board (CKE)
  • European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR)
  • HumanDoc Foundation
  • Batory Foundation
  • British Socio-Political Studies Research Group BRITANNIA
  • Other Univeristy of Warsaw faculties (Faculty of Economic Sciences, Faculty of Law and Administration)
  • Institute of Social Activity (Instytut Aktywności Społecznej)
  • Institute of Political Science and European Studies, University of Szczecin
  • Institute of Labour and Social Studies (IPiSS)
  • Institute of Rural and Agricultural Development, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Institute of Political Studies, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Department of Public Policy, Warsaw School of Economics
  • Department of Social Insurance, Warsaw School of Economics
  • Committee on Labor and Social Policy Sciences, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Consortium of Departments of Strategic (and Security) Studies
  • Section for Swiss Studies, Faculty of Modern Languages, University of Warsaw
  • Ministry of Family, Labour and Social Policy
  • Ministry of Interior and Administration
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • National Institute of Local Government (Narodowy Instytut Samorządu Terytorialnego)
  • Voluntary Labour Corps
  • State Fund for Rehabilitation of Disabled People (PFRON)
  • Polish Academy of Sciences
  • The Polish Institute of International Affairs
  • Polish Society for Social Policy (PTPS)
  • Inter-institute Section “Gender and Politics”, University of Warsaw
    (Międzyinstytutowa Pracownia „Płeć i Polityka”)
  • Political Sciences Section for German Studies, University of Warsaw
    (Pracownia Politologiczna Studiów nad Niemcami)
  • The European Commission Representation Office in Poland
  • Social Dialogue Council
  • Cracow University of Economics
  • Wroclaw University of Economics and Business
  • University of Gdansk
  • Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań
  • Jagiellonian University
  • University of Lodz
  • Maria Curie-Skłodowska University
  • Nicolaus Copernicus University
  • University of Silesia
  • University of Bialystok
  • University of Wrocław
  • Labour offices
  • Social Insurance Institution (ZUS)

Furthermore, we participate in the student mobility programme MOST, which enables studying for an academic term or year at one of twenty Polish universities.

International cooperation

Internationalisation is one of the Faculty’s top priorities.

Institutions we cooperate with:

  • University Association for Contemporary European Studies (UACES)
  • European Economic and Social Committee
  • The Association of Employers of the Internet Industry – Interactive Advertising Bureau Polska
  • European Commission
  • The European Commission Representation Office in Poland
  • International Labour Organization
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  • European Parliament
  • Polish-Spanish Political Science Research Network
  • European University Viadrina
  • University of Naples Federico II
  • University of Cologne
  • University of Ljubljana
  • University of Tübingen

International research networks:

  • European Network for Social Policy Analysis
  • International Network on Leave Policies & Research
  • Work and Family Researchers Network

International exchanges

The Faculty offers one of the broadest choice of Erasmus+ cooperation opportunities available at the University of Warsaw. It is over 210 signed student and staff exchange agreements with the best European universities, including:

– University of Oxford
– University of Pantheon Sorbonne
– Freie Universität Berlin
– University of SciencePo Paris
– University of Heidelberg
– University of Helsinki

In addition to the collaboration within EU, the Faculty cooperatives with approximately 40 universities outside of EU (more on which in the tab Bilateral Cooperation).

Outgoing students and staff

About 150 students and Faculty employees, both academic (as lecturers) and administrative (on courses to raise professional competences), annually participate in Erasmus+ programme (studies and internships in EU member states). In total, an estimated number of 40-50 trips of the Faculty employees take place each year (to countries both in and outside the EU).

Incoming students and staff

Yearly, about 200 short-term students study at the Faculty as a part of Erasmus+ programme (for an academic term or year). The faculty is visited by about 25 research and didactic staff each year, who instruct in courses for Faculty students from programmes in both Polish and English and participate in seminars with Faculty employees.

The cooperation established by Erasmus+ is extended by joint initiatives organised by Faculty employees and foreign partners in the form of joint publications, seminars and international workshops, organisation of longer research stays, “visiting professors” as well as jointly submitted grants.